New SRA board members

New SRA board members

The Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) has announced the appointment of new Board members.

Enid Rowlands, Bill Galvin and Peter Phippen (all lay members), and Paul Marsh, a solicitor member will all be joining the board in January 2013.

An additional two members Julia Black (lay member) and Chris Randall (solicitor member) will join the board in January 2014.

They replace departing members Dr Susan Bews, Sir Ron Watson and Ian Menzies-Conacher (all lay members), and Lorrette Law, Lucy Winskell and Mark Humphries (solicitor members) in December 2012. Peter Duffy and Malcolm Nicholson will leave in December 2013; Tom Keevil will leave in December 2014.

Enid Rowlands is currently the Chair of Victim Support and has extensive board experience at the General Medical Council, Consumer Focus and a variety of other public bodies.

Bill Galvin is Chief Executive of the Pensions Regulator and formerly was an IBM executive. Peter Phippen was President and Chief Executive of BBC Worldwide Americas and Managing Director of BBC Magazines for ten years. He currently holds a range of non-executive appointments in the media industry.

Paul Marsh is a former President of The Law Society and was the instigator of the Conveyancing Quality Scheme. He has practised in Surrey since 1972 and has served on a variety of boards relating to the property, conveyancing and insurance markets.

Julia Black is a Professor in the Law Department at the London School of Economics, with extensive experience of legal services regulation in England and Wales.

Chris Randall is a Solicitor and Chief Executive of Mayo, Wynne Baxter LLP, a Sussex based firm with offices in Brighton, Eastbourne, East Grinstead, Lewes and Seaford.

Charles Plant, Chair of the SRA Board, said: "The Board of the SRA was reconstituted in January 2010, with new members serving a three-year term which will shortly expire.

“In appointing new members, a number of factors have come into play; the Board must have a lay majority, the solicitor component should better reflect the variety of practices in which the profession is engaged, and it would be preferable if the Board could be reduced in number with a more even spread of arrivals and departures.”

In light of this some of the current members will leave in December 2012, and others will continue for one, two or three years.

Mr Plant added: “All have made a significant contribution to the SRA for which we warmly thank them.

"The four new members who will join us in January 2013 and the two who will join us in January 2014 bring a wide range of skills and experience to the Board. We look forward to working with them."

From 1 January 2013, the Board will comprise: Charles Plant (Chair), Graham Chisnall, Martin Coleman, Peter Duffy, Jane Furniss, Bill Galvin, Tom Keevil, Cindy Leslie, Moni Mannings, Paul Marsh, Sara Nathan, Malcolm Nicholson, Peter Phippen, Enid Rowlands and Professor Shamit Saggar.

General News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.